Loading article cover…

Startup Forensics: The Fall of Solyndra
Solyndra had roughly US$1 billion of private investment and a US$535 million federal loan guarantee, then suspended operations on 31 August 2011. Here is why Solyndra failed: its module cost more to make than it sold for, and the plan to grow the factory could not attract enough further financing. The figures below show where the gap sat.[3] [4]
Our read is that unit economics and financing both failed. The guarantee kept the factory running for longer than the cost position could support.
The Patient: Solyndra Funding and the Promise of a Cylindrical Solar Module
Solyndra had roughly US$1 billion of private investment and a US$535 million federally guaranteed loan facility behind it. The company sold cylindrical modules for flat commercial rooftops, mainly through resellers on purchase orders.[3] [6]
Its design avoided the polysilicon used in many competing panels and promised installation advantages. The US$535 million was project debt supported by a guarantee, not a grant, or another equity round.[3] [6]
Argonaut and Madrone were major private backers identified in financing records. The planned IPO never became a completed public offering.[5] [6]
- The problem: a module that avoided the polysilicon used in many competing panels, for flat commercial rooftops.[6]
- Why investors were attracted: the design promised installation advantages on flat commercial rooftops.[6]
- Total funding: roughly US$1 billion of private investment, plus a US$535 million federally guaranteed loan facility.[3]
- Major backers: Argonaut and Madrone. Round leads are not verified.[5]
The Symptoms: Solyndra Warning Signs as Price Pressure Built Up
The first Solyndra warning signs came as falling silicon prices weakened the premium case for a silicon-free module while the company was building capacity. CRS cited historical module manufacturing cost above US$6 per watt, against a US$3.24 selling price in 2009–10. These are reported module figures, not installed-system costs.[3]
CRS reported polysilicon spot prices rose to as much as US$460 per kilogram in early 2008, then ranged from US$50 to US$70 from early 2009. It also reported Spain's installations fell from about 2,600 MW in 2008 to 145 MW in 2009 after subsidy caps.[3]
That mismatch could narrow through factory learning, but it also meant a race against competitors' own cost reductions. Higher production would help only if yields and costs improved faster than market prices fell. A bigger plant financed on yesterday's price assumptions could make tomorrow's cash need larger.
By late 2010 the company sought emergency financing. DOE testimony describes a February 2011 restructuring supported by US$75 million of new private capital. That money bought time to reach scale, but it also changed creditor priorities. Rescue money buys time, not proof of margins.[2]
- 2009–10: manufacturing cost above US$6 per watt, against a US$3.24 selling price, per CRS.[3]
- Late 2010: emergency financing sought, followed by a February 2011 restructuring with US$75 million of new private capital.[2]
- August 2011: module spot prices of US$1.15–1.20 per watt, per CRS's industry comparison.[3]
Cause of Death: Why Solyndra Failed When Unit Costs Could Not Match Prices
The Solyndra shutdown began when operations were suspended on 31 August 2011. The company filed Chapter 11 on 6 September. KQED reported 1,100 layoffs.[3] [4]
Our read: the commercial failure was an unfavorable cost position in the Solyndra business model, combined with a scale-up plan that could not attract enough further financing. Market conditions were a major pressure, but they do not prove that management had no choice about the pace of investment.[3]
The DOE inspector general's later investigation found inaccurate or misleading company statements and shortcomings in the department's diligence. Those are the inspector general's findings, not a criminal verdict. They add a governance problem to the economics: lenders needed dependable information to judge whether more time and money could repair the business.[1]
The Toxicology Screen: The Numbers Behind Solyndra's Collapse
CRS reported US$527 million drawn against the US$535 million guarantee by bankruptcy. Drawn means the money actually taken from the facility. CRS's industry comparison put module spot prices at US$1.15–1.20 per watt in August 2011. That is a market benchmark, not Solyndra's own cost for the month, so a fair comparison needs matching periods.[3]
Solyndra's amended S-1 gives company figures for fiscal 2009, the year ended 2 January 2010. Revenue was US$100.5 million, net loss US$172.5 million (US$232.1 million in fiscal 2008) and net cash used in operating activities US$170.3 million. Cash and short-term investments were US$50.3 million, plus US$151.3 million restricted cash.[6]
These are yearly figures, so they are not a monthly Solyndra burn rate. The same filing said funds would cover at least the next 12 months, while the auditor's report carried a going-concern paragraph. Those are early 2010 company statements, not a runway at collapse. Peak valuation stays undisclosed. The US$75 million restructuring was new financing, not a monthly loss.[2] [6]
- Customer acquisition cost (CAC): Not publicly disclosed. The closest unit figure is module manufacturing cost, above US$6 per watt in 2009–10, per CRS.[3]
- User churn: Not publicly disclosed. No churn or repeat-order rate appears in the cited filing.
- Pricing model: Sold mainly via resellers on purchase orders, 30 to 60 day credit terms (S-1, fiscal 2009). Module price US$3.24 per watt in 2009–10, per CRS.[3] [6]
- Monthly cash burn: Not disclosed monthly. Net cash used in operating activities was US$170.3 million in fiscal 2009, a yearly company figure.[6]
- Runway at collapse: Not publicly disclosed at collapse. In early 2010 the S-1 said funds would last at least 12 months; auditors flagged going-concern doubt.[6]
- Total funding: Roughly US$1 billion private investment, plus a US$535 million federal guarantee, of which US$527 million was drawn.[3]
- Reported loss: Net loss US$172.5 million in fiscal 2009 (year ended 2 January 2010), against US$232.1 million in fiscal 2008, per the S-1.[6]
- Cash position: Cash and short-term investments US$50.3 million on 2 January 2010, plus US$151.3 million restricted cash, per the S-1.[6]
Exhibit A. Figures, periods and uncertainty follow the cited records.
The Post-Mortem: Lessons for Founders
Rebuild the cost-versus-price model before each factory tranche. Use a downside case for competitor prices and measured first-pass yield (the share of modules that pass on the first try). Stop expansion if the verified cost curve cannot close the gap before cash runs out. Waiting may delay capacity, but it keeps you from financing a plant against prices that have already fallen.
Give lenders and directors the same reconciled cash forecast. Share customer contracts and engineering data with them, and label projected cost reductions separately from achieved costs. Require independent review of major drawdowns. If the evidence worsens, keep money for an orderly shutdown rather than assuming another rescue will arrive.
Further reading
- U.S. Department of Energy Office of Inspector General, Special Report 11-0078-I, “The Department of Energy’s Loan Guarantee to Solyndra, Inc.,” 24 August 2015
- Congressional Research Service, “Market Dynamics That May Have Contributed to Solyndra’s Bankruptcy,” 25 October 2011
- U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Steven Chu, written testimony to House Subcommittee, “The Solyndra Failure: Views from Department of Energy Secretary Chu,” 17 November 2011
More Startup Forensics teardowns: Why MoviePass failed · Why Beepi failed · Why Webvan failed
Want a teardown like this every week? Subscribe to the Startup Forensics newsletter, or leave a comment telling us which startup we should investigate next.
Anshkosh Team
Written for the Anshkosh Journal
More from Startup Lessons

Startup Forensics: The Fall of Convoy
Convoy raised more than US$800 million in equity, then closed its core freight business in October 2023.

Startup Forensics: The Fall of Pets.com
Pets.com raised US$82.5 million in its IPO, then the board adopted liquidation on 4 November 2000.

Startup Forensics: The Fall of Webvan
The Webvan IPO prospectus offered US$375 million gross, then the company closed on 9 July 2001 after further financing failed.
